Publishing Advice - Art Ownership

Posted by: Claus On: Aug 2nd 2010

I'm getting to the stage where I'm ready to approach some artists about doing a cover and some internal art. The Buying Art article by Jon Hodgson has been really helpful, but as I've come to understand it is important to have a contract to define who owns what. I want to make sure I have the right to use the artwork where I need to, but I also want to allow the artist to retain as much ownership as possible so they can continue to earn money and glory from their hard work wherever they see opportunities.

I'm not a lawyer, I certainly can't afford one and I don't expect professional legal advise here. However, in your experience do I need a detailed contract with lots of legal speak and a detailed list of all possible uses or can I just use something like:

The artist grants unlimited usage of the artwork to the publisher whether used in print, electronic copies, advertisements or online. The artist will receive credit for the artwork in the book and will be included in any credits on a website when such exist. The artist retains copyright and may use the artwork in any way she sees fit and sell it for second use as long as it is not used in another roleplaying game product without prior written agreement.

Too restrictive? Too generous? Not worth the metaphorical paper it is written on? Got something better?

Posted by: Andrew Kenrick On: Aug 3rd 2010

Hey Claus -

I'm neither a lawyer, nor an artist, but I wonder if the "unlimited usage" bit will raise a few eyebrows. That suggests that you own the art, rather than the artist, which tends to cost a fair bit extra; whereas I wonder if what you'd be better off with is "first use" rights, so you can use it as you see fit for one project, including promotion and the like, rather than indefinite permission to use it.

Hopefully one of our resident artists will show up shortly!

Andrew

Posted by: Malcolm Craig On: Aug 3rd 2010