Actual Play - [Diaspora] Welcome to the Cluster

Posted by: Iain McAllister On: Nov 12th 2010

So I have been running D&D for sometime now, and despite my love of it I needed a break. My group and I had a chat about what we would want to play and we eventually settled on 'Disapora' the Fate based sci-fi game that I have owned for a while but never gotten around to. I have some experience running Fate with SOTC and am really looking forward to running something non-fantasy.

The setup of Diaspora involves creating a Cluster of Systems and characters to inhabit them. Each system can be a single planet alone in space or a whole solar system with multiple garden worlds. Our group created 10 systems, 2 for each of us including me. Now although Diaspora is hard sci-fi focused I gave the group a little room with naming as you will see. Each system has 3 aspects that give an overview of its main features

1. Baker's Star - Trouble Brewing, Rare Earth Metals, Not as Important as it thinks
  2. Aticama - Political Football, There's nothing here?, Ass end of nowhere
  3. Cardinal - HQ of 'The Order', Smuggling for fun & profit, Ripe black market
  4. Steelonia - Military Base, Strategically placed, Power to the people
  5. New Newcastle - Nothing left but ships, No Questions asked, Iona is ours
  6. Rectangulon - Mining Colony, Claustrophobic, Don't stay too long
  7. Iona - Dyson Sphere, Nature reserve, Point of contention
  8. Edenis - Predetermined lives, Science is King, Iona is ours
  9. Bad Risk - AI...sort of, Immortal society, Freya does our dirty work
  10. Freya - Armies for purchase, Fight in the heavens, Who's running this place?